Autovolt Magazine

POLL: Who Will Win the Inaugural Formula E Championship?

Poll now closed.

Formula E has been an invigorating race series with a truly unpredictable nature, keeping everyone guessing as to what will happen next. So far, every track (bar Monaco) has given a winner that didn’t start from pole position. As we move into the final stages of the first season, there are only three races remaining and several contenders to take their place in history as the first ever winner of the all electric Formula E championship.

Sébastien Buemi has looked strong all season and took the chequered flag first at Monte Carlo, but failed to capitalise on his obvious speed at the DHL Berlin ePrix that followed. Blaming the concrete road surface as the reason – despite it being the same surface for everyone else… bad workmen and all that. However, he is undeniably quick in the electric race car and is consistently setting the pace for others to follow. The results board may look more scattered than it should and he is a strong contender to finish first in the championship.

Lucas di Grassi in his Audi Sport ABT has been similarly consistent, ever since the inception of Formula E. He was the first driver to get to grips with the electric powertrain and served as main pilot for official testing too, giving an evident advantage. However, that advantage is now in the past with all other drivers having had ample time to catch up, in terms of on-track experience. Di Grassi’s other commitments at WEC may affect his focus in the closing stages of Formula E, as Le Mans testing begins ahead of the Monaco ePrix. This is the same situation for Buemi too.

Nelson Piquet Jr has enjoyed popularity with fans and is the current championship leader, after di Grassi was excluded from the Berlin ePrix results when his car failed post-race scrutineering. There is a growing rift between the two Brasilians as well, after a qualifying incident at Monaco meant Piquet Jr felt he had been held up by an unapologetic di Grassi, affecting his time and grid position. The rivalry might have been slightly awkward to witness, but it has added an additional element to the race track whenever the two cars are near and meant Piquet struted his stuff during the race, fighting his way to finish third. His consistent point scoring and fastest lap points are what have put him above Buemi in the current leadership rankings, albeit by only two points.

Jerome D’Ambrosio and Nico Prost are the underdogs in the top five, who have never really made the most of their skill in the Spark-Renault SRT_01E. Nico Prost showed great promise in the opening round at China’s Beijing ePrix, but after his huge incident with Nick Heidfeld, things seemed to have quietened down somewhat, even with a win at the Miami ePrix. D’Ambrosio won by default at the DHL Berlin ePrix, but his consistent pace has helped him stay near the top of the leaderboard – scoring only one ‘zero’ at Buenos Aires.

Current Driver Standings, Top Five

  1. Nelson Piquet Jr – 103
  2. Sébastien Buemi – 101
  3. Lucas di Grassi – 93
  4. Nicolas Prost – 78
  5. Jerome D’Ambrosio – 77