Autovolt Magazine

Berlin ePrix Shock Change of Winner

Perhaps you’ve heard that Lucas di Grassi won the Berlin ePrix on Saturday 23rd? At least, he did initially. However, the posthumous results are that the Brazilian driver has been excluded from the results list after post-race scrutineering identified the front wing was non-standard and had been modified.

Initially, the team argued the alterations had been made due to accident repair and were of no competitive advantage, however, they were deemed to be in breach of the rules by the FIA scrutineers. Audi Sport ABT has decided not to appeal the decision in the name of sportsmanship.

This means second place Jerome D’Ambrosio has been promoted to DHL Berlin ePrix winner and the championship standings resultantly alter drastically too, as shown below. Di Grassi is now third in the championship standings, while Nelson Piquet Jr leads and Sébastien Buemi separates the two in second place. e.dams-Renault still leads the team standings by a healthy 63 points over Dragon Racing who are now just one point ahead of Audi Sport ABT.

DHL Berlin ePrix (Rd 8) – Race results:

  1. Jerome D’Ambrosio, Dragon Racing, 48:26.566
  2. Sébastien Buemi, e.dams-Renault, +2.433s
  3. Loïc Duval, Dragon Racing, +3.508s
  4. Nelson Piquet Jr, NEXTEV TCR, +3.975s
  5. Nick Heidfeld, Venturi, +13.046s
  6. Stéphane Sarrazin, Venturi, +13.335s
  7. Jean-Eric Vergne, Andretti, +13.678s
  8. Sam Bird, Virgin Racing, +14.055s
  9. Vitantonio Liuzzi, Trulli, +15.636s
  10. Nicolas Prost, e.dams-Renault, +16.602s
  11. Antonio Felix da Costa, Amlin Aguri, +16.797s
  12. Jaime Alguersuari, Virgin Racing, +20.594s
  13. Scott Speed, Andretti, +21.149s
  14. Daniel Abt, Audi Sport ABT, +23.668s
  15. Charles Pic, NEXTEV TCR, +25.491s
  16. Salvador Duran, Amlin Aguri, +44.137s
  17. Bruno Senna, Mahindra Racing, +46.257s
  18. Karun Chandhok, Mahindra Racing, +52.703s
  19. Jarno Trulli, Trulli, +2 laps
  • Lucas di Grassi, Audi Sport ABT (EXCLUDED)

Driver Standings after DHL Berlin ePrix

  1. Nelson Piquet Jr – 103
  2. Sébastien Buemi – 101
  3. Lucas di Grassi – 93
  4. Nicolas Prost – 78
  5. Jerome D’Ambrosio – 77
  6. Sam Bird – 68
  7. Antonio Felix da Costa – 45
  8. Jean-Eric Vergne – 40
  9. Jaime Alguersuari – 30
  10. Bruno Senna – 28

Team Standings

  1. e.dams-Renault – 179
  2. Dragon Racing – 116
  3. Audi Sport ABT – 115
  4. NEXTEV TCR – 107
  5. Virgin Racing – 98
  6. Andretti – 88
  7. Amlin Aguri – 48
  8. Mahindra Racing – 46
  9. Venturi – 34
  10. Trulli – 17

Formula E Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport ABT) celebrates his victory at the DHL Berlin ePrix - before the decision to exclude him from the race due to front wing modifications found in post-race scrutineering