Autovolt Magazine

Racing EVs & Hybrids

Updates from the world of electric and hybrid racing cars, bikes and even boats and planes.


Nine manufacturers homologated for the 2018-19 FIA Formula E season

The FIA has today released the names of the nine manufacturers who have been granted the homologation for the 5th, 6th and 7th FIA Formula E seasons. Season Five will represent a very important step in the development of the first FIA championship featuring single-seaters powered solely by electricity, because, as from the 2018-19 season, …

Nine manufacturers homologated for the 2018-19 FIA Formula E season Read More »

2016 e-Rallye Monte Carlo - The winning Mirai of Artur PRUSAK (POL) / Thierry BENCHETRIT (FRA)

e-Rallye Monte-Carlo 2016 Won by Toyota Mirai

Drivers Artur PRUSAK (POL) / Thierry BENCHETRIT (FRA) in their Toyota Mirai have managed to clinch the win from title holders Renault, after an endurance Rallye that saw surprises and dramas including an entire town experiencing a somewhat ironic powercut. Torrential rain marred the otherwise scenic journey through France, from Fontainebleau near Paris to Monaco …

e-Rallye Monte-Carlo 2016 Won by Toyota Mirai Read More »

Faraday Future Dragon Racing car pic

Ten Team Names Announced for Formula E Season 3 2016-17

The FIA has released the names of the 10 teams entered to take part in the third season of the FIA Formula E Championship, which gets underway in Hong Kong on October 9.

Eight of the 10 teams have been involved right from the very beginning of the world’s first fully-electric single-seater series, even if some have undergone a name change since then. The new entries come courtesy of Jaguar, the company choosing Formula E to mark its return to motorsport after an absence of over a decade, and the Chinese Techeetah team, that took over Team Aguri’s entry and is owned by China…

Renault-e.dams 2016

Fantastic Race Ends Formula E Championship and London ePrix 2016

The final race of the season was a typically nerve-racking experience as Formula E always delivers. If you like your championships to be close, this was about as close as they get. Headed into the final race of the 2015-16 season two drivers, Lucas di Grassi and Sébastien Buemi were separated by just three points and both were miles ahead of the others.

The two stood alone with a heavy weight on their shoulders as di Grassi has always shown a fast pace right from Formula E’s outset, as had Buemi who nearly won the Championship in its inaugural year…

Post race driver conference with Jerome D'Ambrosio, Sam Bird & Nelson Piquet Jr - Formula E London ePrix 28 June 2015 - AutoVolt

Five new tracks for Season 3 of Formula E, no London

The 2016/17 FIA Formula E Championship calendar was announced today, having been approved by the FIA World Motor Sport Council by an e-vote.

The calendar features 14 races, to be staged in 12 of the world’s leading cities, with double-headers in Montreal and New York. In addition to the ePrix, there will be a special event, the FIA Electric Mobility Forum, which will take place in Las Vegas on January 7.

Faraday Future Dragon Racing Formula E livery concept

Faraday Future Enters Formula E With Dragon Racing

Today, Faraday Future held a press conference ahead of the 2016 FIA Formula E London ePrix to announce a long-term alliance with Dragon Racing, becoming the core technical partner and title sponsor of the team. The new team name will be Faraday Future Dragon Racing, and the partnership will officially initiate at the beginning of Season 3 (2016/2017) at the Formula E Hong Kong ePrix on October 9, 2016.

The announcement was made by Faraday Future executives Marco Mattiacci, Global Chief Brand & Commercial Officer; Nick Sampson…

Buemi makes his move on Bruno Senna - Formula E London ePrix 28 June 2015 - AutoVolt

London ePrix 2016: What you need to know

The London ePrix is back for its second and final time at Battersea Park. Following a convoluted court battle to keep the race in the park, the FIA and Formula E organisers finally succumbed to the wants of certain residents and conceded that they will not attempt to hold the event at Battersea Park in the future, post 2016.

Like last year, the capital will play host to the final two races of the season, which will once again mean the title winner is anything but obvious. Lucas di Grassi leads the current driver standings with 141 points, followed by Sébastien Buemi with 140…

Pin It on Pinterest