Autovolt Magazine

Ten Team Names Announced for Formula E Season 3 2016-17

The FIA has released the names of the 10 teams entered to take part in the third season of the FIA Formula E Championship, which gets underway in Hong Kong on October 9.

Eight of the 10 teams have been involved right from the very beginning of the world’s first fully-electric single-seater series, even if some have undergone a name change since then. The new entries come courtesy of Jaguar, the company choosing Formula E to mark its return to motorsport after an absence of over a decade, and the Chinese Techeetah team, that took over Team Aguri’s entry and is owned by China Media Capital, a public equity and venture capital firm based in Shanghai. Another new name is that of Faraday Future, an advanced mobility company with headquarters in Silicon Valley and Southern California (USA), which has entered into a new technological partnership with Dragon Racing.

The 10 teams entered are:

  • ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport
  • Andretti Formula E
  • Faraday Future Dragon Racing
  • DS Virgin Racing
  • Jaguar Racing
  • Mahindra Racing
  • NextEV NIO
  • Renault e.Dams
  • Techeetah
  • Venturi Formula E

Also announced are the names of the nine constructors whose powertrains have been homologated for season three.

Manufacturer Car model
ABT Schaeffler ABT Schaeffler FE02
Andretti Technologies ATEC-02
DS-Virgin DSV-02
Jaguar Jaguar I-Type 1
Mahindra M3 ELECTRO
NextEV TCR NextEV TCR Formula 002
Penske 701-EV
Renault Z.E. 16
Venturi VM200-FE-02

Source; FIA Formula E