Autovolt Magazine

Formula E to Race at Monaco Plus Updated Calendar

Formula E have just announced updates to their inaugural season calendar to start next year, September 2014.

The new calendar gives the total ten city courses that were initially aimed for plus an order for events to take place.

It should be stressed that this is a preliminary calendar and so is subject to change, but it is a strong likelihood that the cities won’t change, even if the order does.

The newly announced order is as follows:

  1. Beijing, China – 20th September 2014
  2. Putrajaya, Malaysia – 18th October 2014
  3. Hong Kong, China (new addition) – 8th November 2014
  4. Punta del Este, Uruguay (new addition) – 13th December 2014
  5. Buenos Aires, Argentina – 10th January 2015
  6. Los Angeles, California, USA – 14th February 2015
  7. Miami, Florida, USA – 18th April 2015
  8. Monte Carlo, Monaco (new addition) – 9th May 2015
  9. Berlin, Germany – 30th May 2015
  10. London, UK – 27th June 2015

Monaco is one of three new venues added to the provisional 2014 2015 FIA Formula E Championship calendar

Perhaps the most significant addition in the list to those who already follow Formula One, is the inclusion of Monaco – a street circuit famed for it’s narrow course with tight bends requiring excellent acceleration and manoeverability. It will be fascinating to see how the speeds compare around the track in comparison to next year’s 2014 Formula One cars which will feature smaller, 1.6 litre turbo power plants rather than the current larger capacity naturally aspirated cars of the 2013 season.

[yop_poll id=”2″]

It is a shame not more countries in Europe are holding Formula E races. Considering Paris, with Renault’s influence into the creation of the SPARK SRT_01E Formula E all electric race car and the FIA headquarters being based there too, might also have been a good inclusion. However, it is possible that things will change for the inaugural season or seasons thereafter.Formula E Provisional CalendarSource; Formula E